Homemade Rooster Sauce (aka Sriracha)

Recently, I found myself intrigued with Sriracha sauce. There was the Sriracha plant closure story in the LA Times. There was also a great podcast that I listened too on KCRW’s GOOD FOOD about Sriracha. The person interviewed was Randy Clemens, the author of two books: The Sriracha Cookbook and The Veggie Lover’s Sriracha Cookbook. He spoke about the history of Sriracha as well as his first annual Sriracha festival that he was organizing in LA. And lastly, even though it is early January in Santa Barbara, I still have some hot peppers growing in my garden. So with all of this sudden awareness with Sriracha (I was raised in a household that really didn’t use hot sauce let alone rooster sauce, so I had really never heard of it before the media brought it to my attention. Yes, I have seen the infamous bottle with roosters on it at different restaurants but again, I had never really tasted it before let alone made it) and my own peppers harvest, I set out to make Sriracha.

I first just used the recipe from Randy Clemens but with some twists:

1 3/4 pounds assorted hot peppers from my garden AND red jalapeño peppers, stems removed and halved lengthwise
5 to 8 cloves garlic, peeled (his called for garlic powder)
1/4 cup cane sugar + 1 tablespoon molasses (his called for granulated sugar)
1 tablespoon sea salt
1/2 cup distilled white vinegar

Blend all ingredients except the vinegar.

Put in CLEAN jars or in a CLEAN bowl, and cover loosely.

Let sit for 5-7 days on the counter, stirring each day.

Image

After fermentation is complete, blend with vinegar.

Strain through a fine mesh strainer (but not too fine was you want it to have a consistency that is more sauce like and not water, the first round I tried a finer mesh and it was too watery) and cook until it reaches desired consistency.

Image

Ta da! Sriracha success!

Image

Put back in jar(s), seal and refrigerate.

Image

Now that I have my very own homemade rooster sauce I will keep you posted on some of my creations.

Bon Appetit!

Emma

Leave a Reply

