apple kale muffins

photo-5

Today I was at the Santa Barbara Farmers Market (even though our vegetable garden is still thriving in our front yard we still need to supplement – especially in the winter months – with fresh produce from the farmers market). I was doing my usual shopping which means ALWAYS stopping by Milliken Family Farms. I reached for some yummy kale because our kale is still too small to harvest right now and from there this is what happened….

This evening I wanted to make some muffins to have on hand for the days ahead. I love making grain free banana muffins (I will post my perfected recipe in another post) but something told me to go for adding the kale into muffins of some shape or form.

One of my favorite recipes in years past is from 365 days of kale. However, I like to toy with making things grain free these days and I remember our daughter Olivia coming home from school the other day super excited because the teacher had made cashew bread for them to take along on their hike. She was raving about it. So I thought about the idea of using cashews and coconut flour in the place of the regular flour and including apples with the kale. The following recipe was born:

Ingredients

1/4 cup coconut oil + 1 tablespoon for sauteing apples and kale

1 cup shredded apple (I used one small apple, peeled, cored and shredded)
1 1/2 cups finely chopped kale
2 tablespoons cinnamon
2 eggs
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup raw cashews
½ cup flaxseed meal
1 teaspoon baking soda

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325F and prepare mini muffin pan with liners.
  2. In a small saucepan, heat 1 tablespoon coconut oil and add apple, kale and cinnamon. Sautee for 3-5 minutes or until apples are soft and kale is wilted. Allow to cool off.
  3. In a bowl, combine coconut oil, eggs, and maple syrup. Mix well.
  4. In a cuisinart grind cashews until the consistency of flour. Then add coconut flour, flax meal, baking soda and vanilla. Mix until well combined. Add the apple-kale mixture and pulse until mixed completely
  5. Add flour/apple-kale mixture to the liquid ingredients and mix until well incorporated.
  6. Fill batter into muffin liners and bake for approximately 20-25 minutes.
  7. Cool completely and enjoy!
  8. Makes 24 mini muffins

The outcome: Super yummy!

Until next post, Emma

Leave a Reply

