Raw Vegan Ice Cream

photo

Okay, I love ice cream. I mean I really love I cream. I grew up on a dairy farm, for goodness sakes, we had fresh dairy products all the time. And I have to admit, I still love my dairy. I still love my milk and cheese and ice cream and the list goes on. BUT, I like to mix it up. Especially for the kids sake. I believe in moderation. Too much of anything is well, too much. I have found I also love to play with making raw delights. And this one is super yummy!

You see, it’s my daughter’s 5th birthday next week and it’s kinda become a tradition that I make a cake and homemade ice cream for her birthday party these days. Her favorite, strawberry ice cream hands down. Done! Easy. Mine is simple. Just cream, milk, fresh farmers market strawberries and some honey and vanilla to taste, put in the ice cream maker and viola. Only catch is that a couple of her friends are dairy free these days. Which means I want to make them something they can have too!

Enter my search. I really did look high and low for a good recipe to use. I have tried the coconut ice creams in the past. Again, easy, two cans of coconut milk plus agave and vanilla to taste. But, something about the canned coconut milk I just didn’t like. I also tried the very popular almond milk with banana blended. Still, it was good but not great. So, after looking and looking, I decided to just make up my own.

Here is what I did. First, I soaked 1 cup of raw almonds and 1 cup of cashews overnight (really, you could use any nut of choice) with 4 cups water. In the morning I drained the nuts and added them to my vitamix along with 10 ounces homemade coconut butter, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, and 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup maple syrup (or sweetener of choice). Next, I blended the ingredients and then placed in the ice cream maker. The result. Rich. Creamy. Delish!!

photo-1

Bon Appetit! Emma

Leave a Reply

