Pina-Maca-Lada

Image

We finally did it. We converted our front yard into an edible garden this year. Thanks to my husband’s design savviness (http://kevinmoorearchitect.com) we took out our front lawn and added garden boxes with a modern twist.  Right now, our garden greens are flourishing. Of course that is the positive. However, there are only so many kale chips, kale salad, sauteed greens and kale pesto I can make (Oh, yeah, since this blog is new, that reminds me that those are all great posts that I will definitely share with you in the near future).

Image

So today it’s warm outside and I want to eat some greens but I don’t want a salad right now. I want something cool and refreshing. Enter my “Pina-Maca-Lada” smoothie creation. I head outside to my garden and cut my greens (kale, swiss chard, lettuce, spinach really whatever you wish to add to your smoothie), about 2-3 cups worth (if you are not use to greens in your smoothie you can also tone it down to only one cup or just a handful). Yes, that much. You can also just buy your greens instead of growing them, just try to find farmer fresh greens. They really do taste better. Add the greens, 1/2 cup organic coconut milk, 1/3 cup organic frozen mango, 1/3 cup organic frozen pineapple, 1 organic banana, 1 tablespoon maca powder and a handful or two of ice (you can omit this, I just happen to love a really frozen smoothie).

Image

Blend in Vitamix or blender of choice and the result is a “Pina-Maca-Lada.” The best part is my kids LOVE this drink. They ask for this green smoothie all of the time! Try it. I bet it will be your favorite smoothie too!

Image

Til next post, Emma

4 thoughts on “Pina-Maca-Lada

  1. That’s a gorgeous front garden!! I was going to plant some veg in my two hanging baskets but the house is up for sale now so it will have to wait 😦 Smoothie looks amazing too!

Leave a Reply

