Onesie dress

So, after finding a number of adorable tutorials on Pinterest (I ❤ Pinterest!), I decided to try my hand at the so-called onesie dress. Through all the hand-me-downs, I ended up with two short-sleeved and stained, white onesies – oh, and did I mention they were too small too? Being the ambitionista I am, I bought a box of red Rit dye (about six months ago b/c I knew I’d get a wild hair soon enough) and threw a bunch of stained, white tops in the bucket of red dye. Two reddish onesies and one nursing tank later, I decided I probably won’t use Rit dye again – but let’s stay focused. I chose one of the onesies as my first victim and cut off the bottom half. Then I took a piece of fabric I’d been dying to use (no pun intended), that ended up to be the perfect size and shape and sewed them together. Head over to http://prudentbaby.com/2010/03/baby-kid/10-minute-onesie-dress-easiest-dress-ever-2/ to check out the great instructions to make your little one an adorable

Cute girly on a sunny, spring day

Cute girly on a sunny, spring day

onesie dress. As a sidenote: in order to avoid sewing and then seam-ripping because you’ve traumatized your child by having her try it on, only to find it’s waaaay too small, be sure to:

Stretch the onesie fabric as you sew the skirt on!

Leave a Reply

